Follow Us

Follow us on Twitter  Follow us on LinkedIn

26 November 2009

Commissioners designated for the next Commission

Centre-right politicians dominate the list of new EU commissioners expected to take office late January. There are nine women on the list - one more than in the current Commission - which, in principle, should please the EP. MEPs will now have to approve them.

Before they can take office, the designated commissioners face tough questioning from Euro MPs at European Parliament hearings in January. MEPs' approval is required to confirm the nominations.


The list includes several commissioners nominated to serve a second five-year term, including Finland's Olli Rehn (Enlargement commissioner), Viviane Reding from Luxembourg (Information and Media commissioner) and Neelie Kroes from the Netherlands (Competition commissioner).


Following the election of President José Manuel Barroso (September), and the naming of High Representative/Vice President, Catherine Ashton (last week), all Member States have nominated commissioners. President Barroso will now proceed with the allocation of portfolios. Hearings at the European Parliament will take place in January before the College of Commissioners and are subject to a vote of approval by the European Parliament.

President Barroso said: ‘I am pleased to have received nominations from all Member States. Now it is my job to allocate the right portfolios to the right people. I look forward to present a strong Commission team to the European Parliament’.

Commissioners designate for the next Commission (full list):

Austria - Johannes Hahn (EPP)

Belgium - Karel De Gucht (ELDR - Liberal)

Bulgaria - Rumiana Jeleva (EPP)

Cyprus - Androulla Vassiliou (ELDR)

Czech Republic - Stefan Fuele (S&D - Centre-left)

Denmark - Connie Hedegaard (EPP)

Estonia - Siim Kallas (ELDR)

Finland - Olli Rehn (ELDR)

France - Michel Barnier (EPP)

Germany - Guenther Oettinger (EPP)

Greece - Maria Damanaki (S&D)

Hungary - Laszlo Andor (S&D)

Republic of Ireland - Maire Geoghegan Quinn (ELDR)

Italy - Antonio Tajani (EPP)

Latvia - Andris Piebalgs (EPP)

Lithuania - Algirdas Semeta (EPP)

Luxembourg - Viviane Reding (EPP)

Malta - John Dalli (EPP)

The Netherlands - Neelie Kroes (ELDR)

Poland - Janusz Lewandowski (EPP)

Portugal - Commission President Jose Manuel Barroso (EPP)

Romania - Dacian Ciolos (EPP)

Slovakia - Maros Sefcovic (S&D)

Slovenia - Janez Potocnik (ELDR)

Spain - Joaquin Almunia (S&D)

Sweden - Cecilia Malmstroem (ELDR)

UK - Baroness Catherine Ashton (S&D)


Press release


© European Commission

< Next Previous >
 Hover over the blue highlighted text to view the acronym meaning
Hover over these icons for more information

Add new comment