Follow Us

Follow us on Twitter  Follow us on LinkedIn

07 January 2016

ESMA to cooperate with Canadian and Swiss regulators on CCPs

Default: Change to:

ESMA has established three Memoranda of Understanding (MoU) under EMIR.

The MoUs establish cooperation arrangements, including the exchange of information, regarding Central Counterparties which are established and authorised or recognised in Canada (Alberta, Manitoba, Ontario and/or Quebec) or Switzerland, and which have applied for EU recognition under EMIR. 

EMIR provides for cooperation arrangements between ESMA and the relevant non-EU authorities whose legal and supervisory framework for CCPs have been deemed equivalent to EMIR by the European Commission.

ESMA agreed two MoUs with the following Canadian regulators:
•    the Alberta Securities Commission (ASC);
•    the Autorité des Marchés Financiers of Québec (AMF) ; 
•    the Manitoba Securities Commission (MSC); and
•    the Ontario Securities Commission (OSC).

ESMA agreed one MoU with the following Swiss regulators:
•    the Swiss Financial Market Authority (FINMA); and 
•    the Swiss National Bank (SNB.)

The MoUs are effective as of 30 November 2015, except for the OSC as the respective MoU will enter into force in Ontario upon endorsement  by the respective Ministry in accordance with local legislation.

Full press release

MoU with Alberta

Mou with Quebec

Mou with Switzerland


< Next Previous >
 Hover over the blue highlighted text to view the acronym meaning
Hover over these icons for more information

Add new comment